Dehing Patkai National Park

Dehing Patkai national park

Referred as the Amazon of the East and deriving its name from the Dehing River and the Patkai Mountain range, this Jeypore Rain Forest was declared as Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary on 19th June, 2004 and was declared as National Park on 15th June, 2021 with an area of 234.26 Sq KM located in Dibrugarh and Tinsukia District. Tourists are allowed to enter this National Park through three ranges viz. Soraipung and Joypur range in Dibrugarh District and Margherita range in Tinsukia District. The rainforest sees heavy rainfall, largely an unexplored terrain, which is perhaps one of the major reasons of its rich biodiversity. This National Park is a habitat to around 42 species of mammals, 40 species of reptiles, more than 200 species of butterflies and more than 200 species of birds.